Friends of Oxford Botanic Garden & Arboretum


As a Friend of Oxford Botanic Garden and Arboretum you'll enjoy free or reduced-price entry to 9 botanic gardens across the country, including the Oxford Botanic Garden and Harcourt Arboretum. You will meet a wonderful community of Friends at our regular events and trips abroad whilst helping to support both the Botanic Garden and Arboretum collections and research for future generations. Friends also enjoy 10% off in our Gift Shop and a Summer Party exclusively for Friends and their families. Click here to read about Friends' upcoming events and visits.


Privacy Policy


Which Gardens are included?

Royal Botanic Gardens: 2-for-1 entry to the Royal Botanic Gardens, including Kew Gardens in West London and Wakehurst Place at Ardingly in West Sussex.

Chelsea Physic Garden: Tucked away beside the Thames, Chelsea Physic Garden is the oldest botanic garden in London and houses around 5,000 different medicinal, herbal, edible and useful plants. Free entry with Friends' membership.

Royal Botanic Gardens of Scotland: Including the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh, Benmore Botanic Garden, Dawyck Botanic Garden and Logan Botanic Garden. Free entry with Friends' membership.

National Botanic Garden of Wales: The National Botanic Garden of Wales is set in the beautiful countryside of Llanarthe, Carmarthenshire. Free entry with Friends' membership.

Birmingham Botanical Gardens: The Birmingham Botanical Gardens contain glasshouses, beautiful gardens, a playground, tearoom and gift shop. Free entry with Friends' membership.

The University of Liverpool's Ness Botanic Gardens: The superb gardens at Ness in Liverpool span over 64 acres. Free entry with Friends' membership.

The University of Bristol Botanic Garden: A beautiful garden filled with a huge diversity of plants set against the backdrop of a striking Victorian house. Free entry with Friends' membership.


Who are we?

Patron: HM King Charles III

President: Lord Patten of Barnes

Vice Presidents: Lawrence Banks, Robin Herbert, Lady Lapthorne, Sir Ghillean Prance, Sir Crispin Tickell, the President of Magdalen College and the Dean of Christ Church

Directors and Trustees: Sarah Taylor (Chair), Anna Nasmyth (Secretary), Hemlata Bountra (Treasurer), Simon Hiscock (Director of the Oxford Botanic Garden & Arboretum), Diana Naumann, Seonaid Danziger, Helen Potts and Rebecca Mather.

Friends' Forum: The Directors and Sue Bates, Pauline Coombes, Gina Copp, Alison Culverwell, Anna Donger, Peter Girling, Mary Isaac, Anne James, Carol Maxwell, Sally Orriss and Esther Whiting.

The Friends of Oxford Botanic Garden and Harcourt Arboretum is a company limited by guarantee:
company no 05547805, registered office in the UK at Rose Lane, Oxford OX1 4AZ. Registered charity no 1111939.

Find us on the Charity Commission website.

Read the minutes from our 2022 Annual General Meeting and FOBGA's Articles of Association (2020).

Friends' Accounts year ending 2023.